who thus became the sole proprietor. (See Bellamy Falls and Mills.)¹

Sawyer's Station. This is a station on the Portsmouth and Dover Railroad, near Sawyer's mills in Dover.

Sawyer's Village. The line of tenement houses along the Bellamy, near Sawyer's mills, erected for the benefit of the operatives, is popularly so called. The longest of these houses is known as the Ten Commandments—a name facetiously given in the course of its erection, because it was divided into ten tenements.

SCATTERWIT. This name is given to a district above the Upper-Factory falls in Dover, adjoining the Cochecho on the casterly side. It is mentioned June 23, 1701, when Ebenezer Varney had a grant of 30 acres near Scatterwitt country. Tristram Heard, in his will of Ap. 18, 1834, gives his daughter Jean, wife of Benjamin Hayes, one half of his sixty-acre lot at Scatterwit. The name is otherwise written, May 7, 1736, when Wm. Welland conveyed to Isaac Libbey 14 acres of land "on the north side of yo way yt leads to Scatnet. Six acres of land were laid out to Benjn Roberts Feb. 26, 1739, at a place called Scatterwit, beginning at a white oak near Ezra Kimball's shop on the north side of the road that leads to said Scatterwit, then running by Ebenezer Varney's land. road from Gage's Hill to the Long Hill road is now called the Scatterwit Sanford and Everts' Atlas incorrectly calls this district "Scatterwith." The present county farm is in Scatterwit.

School-Districts. A school was established on Dover Neck at an early day. The town ordered the 5th, 2 mo., 1658, that 20 pounds per annum be raised to maintain a schoolmaster in the town of Dover, to teach all the children "to reid, write, cast a compte, latine, as the parents shall require." (N. H. Prov. Pap., 1: 312.) The school-districts of Dover are thus enumerated in 1790: 1. Centre district. 2. Dover Neck. Littleworth. 4. Tolend. 5. North Side, Garrison Hill. 6. Long Hill, from R. Kimball's to N. Varney's. 7. Fresh Creek. 8. Black Water. 9. Back River, south end. 10. Back River, Mast road. The Dover schooldistricts of the present day are: 1. Back River. 2. Upper Factory. 3. Garrison Hill. 4. Blackwater. Long Hill. 6. Tolend. 7. Littleworth. 8. Upper Neck. 9. Lower Neck. These do not include the districts in the city proper.

The Durham school-districts are mentioned in the town records of 1794 as follows: 1. Falls, 1st North district; i. e., in Durham village. 2. Falls, 2d North district; i. e., the district around Buck's hill. 3. Falls, South district, now the Broth Hill district. 4. Lubberland. 5. Point district. 6. Packer's Falls. 7. District below Jones's Creek. This is called Back River district in 1799. It is now sometimes called the Bridge or Pascataqua Bridge district because it extends to the Durham terminus of the old Pascataqua bridge. 8. District

¹ In the article Bellamy Falls and Mills Wm. Follet is said to have conveyed his part thereof to Richard Waldron Ap. 27, 1675. It was in the year 1671, and Waldron's deed to Joseph Gerrish says it was on the 20th of April.